Kawan-kawan setia

Ahad, 24 Mei 2009

Fikir 10 hingga 100 kali sebelum upload ke internet

Apa sahaja yang anda upload ke internet seperto foto ke Facebook, fotopages, friendster, Flikr dan lain-lain lagi anggaplah ia akan selama-lamanya disitu. Sebabnya, walaupun ada suatu ketika and a merasakan foto tersebut tidak sesuai dan perlu dinyah dari internet dengan men "delete" anda patut tahu ia tidak hilang walaupun tiada lagi kelihatan.  Anda akan dapati kemudiannya URL tersebut mengeluarkan kembali jika link tempat ianya resida masih berfungsi. Ini belum lagi foto atau artike tersebut telah disalin oleh berbagai pihak atas berbagai sebab. 

Penelidik dari Unversiti Cambridge telah merakamkan penemuan mereka "that nearly half of the social networking sites don't immediately delete pictures when a user requests they be removed.  In general, photo-centric websites like Flickr were found to be better at quickly removing deleted photos upon request". Why do "deleted" photos stick around so long? The problem relates to the way data is stored on large websites: While your personal computer only keeps one copy of a file, large-scale services like Facebook rely on what are called content delivery networks to manage data and distribution. It's a complex system wherein data is copied to multiple intermediate devices, usually to speed up access to files when millions of people are trying to access the service simultaneously. (Yahoo! Tech is served by dozens of servers, for example.) But because changes aren't reflected across the CDN immediately, ghost copies of files tend to linger for days or weeks. In the case of Facebook, the company says data may hang around until the URL in question is reused, which is usually "after a short period of time." Though obviously that time can vary considerably.

Of course, once a photo escapes from the walled garden of a social network like Facebook, the chances of deleting it permanently fall even further. Google's caching system is remarkably efficient at archiving copies of web content, long after it's removed from the web. Anyone who's ever used Google Image Search can likely tell you a story about clicking on a thumbnail image, only to find that the image has been deleted from the website in question -- yet the thumbnail remains on Google for months. And then there are services like the Wayback Machine, which copy entire websites for posterity, archiving data and pictures forever.

The lesson: Those drunken party photos you don't want people to see? Simply don't upload them to the web, ever, because trying to delete them after you sober up is a tough proposition

Tiada ulasan: